Our Work

The National Shipping Board is the highest advisory body on matters relating to Indian shipping including the development thereof and on such other matters arising out of the Merchant Shipping Act of the Central Government. The permanent statutary body was established on 1st March 1959 and was inaugurated on 10th of March, 1959 by Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru, the then Prime Minister of India. Over the years the Board has played a distinguished role in the maritime development of the country and has conducted 118 meetings till date.

The constitution of the Board under the Merchant Shipping Act is as under:

(a)Six member elected by Parliament,  four by the Lok Sabha from amongst its members and other two by the Rajya Sabha from amongst its members;

(b) Such number of other members not exceeding 16 as the Central Government may think fit to appoint to the Board to represent

  • the Central Government
  • Ship Owners
  • Seamen
  • such other interests as in the opinion of the Central Government ought to be represented on the Board.

The National Shipping Board has been very proactive in recent times involved in several important committees, both in the Port and Shipping sectors. All major decision making in the Ministry has had inputs from the Chairman of the Board.